Tags

, , , ,

Don’t you just love a great buy?? $1 tomatoes

I was out and about this weekend killing time until I had to pick up my daughter who was taking the SAT. I spot a Big Lots store. Now, I normally never shop in this store, but had time to kill so what the heck. Boy, did I score BIG TIME. I found Contadina 28 oz cans of  San Marzano crushed tomatoes. Now for those of you who are foodies, you know that San Marzano tomatoes are the choice tomatoes for Italian cooking. I got them for $1.00 per can. Normally they run almost $4 in the grocery store. Lets just say that I have enough cans of tomatoes to last through Armageddon. Big Lots also has a fabulous gourmet food section with tons of imported foods. My next big score was at the farmers market yesterday. If you have one close to you, I encourage you to support their businesses. I walked out yesterday with the BEST homemade garlic olive oil EVER!! This olive oil taste so fresh and sweet that you could practically drink it.(..and I did). And if that weren’t enough, I stumbled upon a cute couple who make fresh homemade pasta. I bought a pound of garlic fettuccini which was simple delicious.

Inspired by all of my great finds, I just had to go home and whip up a quick marinara sauseMarinara Sauce. Enjoy!

1  Can San Marzano crushed Tomatoes

1 Can San Marzano peeled whole Tomatoes

1 yellow onion

2 tablespoons Olive Oil (to coat pan)

1 (small)Garlic clove (peeled and minced)

1 teaspoon sugar

Italian Seasoning

Pepper Flakes

Salt

Pepper

Chop onions and saute in pan with olive oil until soft and translucent. Add Italian seasoning, pepper flakes,garlic, salt,  pepper and sugar to taste.  Use your own judgement of how much seasoning to add. But I normally use about 1 tablespoon of Italian seasoning and add more if needed. Saute onions and seasonings for 5 min. This allows the Italian season to “wake up” so to speak.

Add tomatoes to the onion mixture, stir and cover pot and saute for 45 min on med-low heat.

Serve over fresh fettuccine.

