Ok, so that’s not actually the lyrics to the song,  but it’s MY SONG. First of all I want to apologize for not blogging lately. I had to take a quick station break but I am back now, so stay tuned for a month full of delicious, easy to make recipes and great entertaining ideas. Earlier this year, well, actually last winter, I got the notion to start eating better and taking better care of my body. So, I started on my quest to eat “clean”, whatever that means??  I started by eating foods that did not contain high fructose corn syrup, minimally processed foods with no preservatives etc… I also started eating organic foods whenever possible and cutting back on the crackers, chips, etc.. all of my favorites.  As new regimen of eating better and exercising, stated to take shape,  I discovered some other things or should I say benefits that came along with this change:

The Obvious- Weight loss. First of all, I have discovered that my waistline is starting to shrink down inch-by-inch. I think that eliminating my 2-3 a day coke habit (Diet Coke that is, what did you think I was talking about??) has significantly contributed to this. I would show you some before and after pics, but I am not that brave yet.  But the Biggest and most significant change is that my asthma symptoms, (wheezing, coughing, etc..) have greatly improved.  Dr’s say that exercise can improve asthma symptoms, but personally, in the past it only made my asthma worse.  My energy levels have skyrocketed and I even participated in my first 5K last month.  I think the combination of eating cleaner and exercise is just the ticket!

Glowing Skin–  Anyway, I have also noticed that my skin is smoother, and softer, without having to slather on a bottle of Nivea lotion either. I was at a mall recently and one of the sales clerks stopped and asked me what skin care products I am using because my skin (face) looked so good.

Increased Libido – I knew I’d get your attention with this one! Let’s just say that the Fourth of July is not the only time fireworks are going off around here. Get my drift?

So, what is the lesson learned here? Well, exercising is great, but hook it up with sophie in the gardenclean eating and you are on your way to a healthier and better looking you. I still eat a chocolate chip cookie or two (don’t judge) but not to the degree that I did before. Since there is power in numbers, I will take you on this journey with me and maybe we can get fit and healthier together. Oh.. one last thing,  I planted my first Potager, or for you less sophisticated people (just kidding) a raised garden.

My garden is in fullveg garden production now and will hopefully yield some great vegetables and herbs to cook with. Here are some pictures of my garden featuring my precious daughter Sophie who is so helpful in working in our garden and getting it to where it is now.  Also, a shout out to my awesome husband Mark, who built the garden boxes for me and is a major source of encouragement to me on my journey to better health!

Love and Health,

Kelly

