Don’t you just love a great party?  In today’s blog, I will share with you some simple and quick tips to get your next party started right.  At this very minute, I am in the process of planning a garden themed birthday party for my sisters’ birthdays and I have included some pictures for your viewing pleasure. You are probably asking, “So what do the 3 P’s have to do with it?” Glad you asked. I live by the 3 P’s when planning an event or really anything that requires a lot of attention to details. I will start with the first P.

PLAN– To pull off a great party or event, it takes a some planning and strategizing, especially if you have a tight budget to work with. This is key, DON’T GO BROKE trying to plan a party. For instance, if you are on a really, really, tight budget, then just offer quick and inexpensive finger foods as an alternative to a sit down dinner. Add some delicious desserts, fun decor and some great music; your guests will be talking about your party for days . One of my life savers and go-to’s for party planning is my local Goodwill store.  I found the most beautiful 24k gold rimmed plateChina for only .25 cents per plate! I have also found sterling silver chafing dishes, napkins, flowers etc…. In fact , my entire decor for this party with the exception of the water goblets and silverware is furnished courtesy of Goodwill.     

Another great planning tip is to start watching the sale flyers from your local grocery store. For my party this weekend,  I will be serving chicken. So about a few weeks ago, I started watching the sales flyers to see when chicken would be on sale. I purchased organic chicken breast for only $2.99 per pound when normally, they are upwards of $4.99 per pound. Not only did I purchase enough for my party, I also stocked my deep freezer as well.  CHa Ching!!

PREP-  One of the reasons why I started my blog, other than my love for cooking, is to encourage more people to entertain at home. Whether its just the hubby and the kids or a party for 100, put on your domestic diva cape and show them a good time. The most common complaint by women is the amount of time and energy it takes to prepare for a party. I am here to say you don’t need to hire a party planner for your next shindig. By following a few simple tips, you will be an decorating party june 2013entertaining goddess in no time! For instance, most desserts and even side dishes can be prepared a day or even a month ahead of time.  Did you know that you can make a cake (unfrosted) ahead a time and freeze it for up to 2 months? Another great tip is freezing herbs. Just take your fresh herbs either from your garden or the grocery and place them in an ice cube tray and cover with water. The next time you need a fresh herb for your pasta or soup, take out one of your “herbsicles” and  plop one or two in your sauce. You can also freeze your stocks (chicken, vegetable,or beef).  When you need some , just go to your ice cube tray. Another great time saver is to chop up all of your vegetables such as onions,  and peppers and place them in small freezer bags and freeze for up to 6 months.

I recently found a great app called “BigOven.com” which allows you to plan a menu and the app makes your grocery shopping list based off your menu. Have left overs from your party but not enough for an entire meal? Just plug in your what you have leftover (ex. lamb and asparagus) and this app will give you at least 60 ideas for recipes you can make with you left overs. Cool huh???

PRAY- This is probably the most important of all of the P’s.  YES, I said PRAY!!!! Praying helps calm your nerves and keeps you centered. If you’re anything like me and easily stress out when the heat is on, praying is your best weapon. I even pray for direction in what to serve at my parties and where to go to get the best deals. PRAYER WORKS!! Even if you are not planning an event, find time throughout your day to acknowledge God and his goodness. Look around, there is always something to be thankful for.

Remember….. A great party doesn’t have to be expensive to elegant and fun. Follow these few tips and everyone will want an invite to your next get together.

placesetting june 2013

Love and Domestic Bliss,

Kelly

