Tags

, , , , , ,

P1060395Although I am keenly aware that many of my recipes are not what you would consider low carb or heart healthy, I do try to fit in healthy recipes for my family on a regular basis.  I recently made this dish for my dad who by the way, is brutally honest and he gave me the thumbs up (thanks Daddy!). Just because you may have been advised to watch your sodium and cholesterol intake, doesn’t mean your food has to be flavorless. Substitute butter for olive oil and other flavored oils such as grapeseed, peanut or even walnut oil. Another way to season food without sodium is to use different herbs and spices in place of seasoned salts and high sodium condiments. One I personally like to use is Herbs de Provence. I know it sounds fancy but it’s just a combination of rosemary, thyme, basil, marjoram and savory. Another salt substitute is fresh lemon juice anP1060367d garlic. On your next trip to the grocery store, take a stroll down the spice aisle and pick up a few new spices and experiment with them at home. Your tastebuds and your ♥ will thank you!

Note: I served my with grilled skinless chicken breast, for added protein.

DIRECTION

1 pkg Whole Grain thin spaghetti

2 Tbsp olive oilP1060387

2 Tbsp garlic, minced

1 shallot, minced

2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

3 cups fresh San Marzano tomatoes, diced

4 Tbsp Herbs de Provence, or to taste

Fresh basil

Parmesan Cheese (optional: use sparingly, contains sodium)

Cook pasta according to package directions or Al dente’ (still slightly firm)

Heat a large saute’ pan over medium high heat with olive oil. Saute shallots until golden, then add garlic and saute’ for another 5 minutes. Add tomatoes, balsamic vinegar and herbs de Provence. Heat until warmed (about 2 minutes). Combine pasta and tomato mixture and heat until warm. Sprinkle with fresh basil and parmesan cheese. (approximately 2-3 min) Makes 4-6 servings.

