Tags

, , ,

T.G.I.F……..No, it’s not what you’re thinking. “Thank God its Finally” under 90 degrees outside!! I’ve been itching to turn on my oven and cook a meal without feeling the towering inferno inside my house. Don’t get me wrong, out of the four seasons we have here in Indiana, summer is my absolute favorite. But geesh!! 98 degrees plus humidity?? I’m not even going to go there about my recent bad hair days. In other news….

One of big daddy’s (my husband) favorite meals is sirloin beef tips served with wild rice or potatoes. He’s a real meat and potatoes kind of guy and pretty much loves anything I cook, but this one is exceptionally delicious in his book. Shhhhh… I have a secret that I have been keeping from him for years now.  I don’t really use sirloin in my recipe. Gasp!! I know communication is the secret to a good marriage. But trust me girls, if you make this for your man, he’ll be smacking his lips and you will be crowned “wife of the year.”

Recipe for “Sirloin” Beef Tips 

2 lbs stew beef

1 medium onion

8 oz pkg white mushrooms

4 cups beef broth

4 garlic cloves

4 Tbsp butter

3 Tbsp vegetable oil (for pan)

1 c dry white wine

4 Tbsp flour

salt, pepper

DIRECTIONS:

Mix salt, pepper and flour in shallow pan.  On medium high, heat oil in dutch oven or large pan. Dredge (coat) pieces of meat with the flour mixture and saute in pan making sure not to crowd the pan with too many pieces of meat.(do this in batches brown meatif necessary). The meat should be evenly browned on all sides but still pink inside. Remove meat from pan and place on paper towel to absorb excess oil.

Slice onions, garlic and mushrooms in medium size pieces.  Add 2 Tbsp of butter to the hot pan and saute onions until golden brown.  Add 2 more Tbsp of butter to pan and add garlic and mushrooms and saute until mushrooms turn light brown color. Remove mushrooms, garlic and onion mixture and set aside.

saute veges

At this point, the bottom of your pan should be coated with brown bits from the meat mixture. This is called “Fond” and should not be removed. This fond is what actually helps to season the meat and will cause the liquid to thicken.

fond

Turn heat down to medium low and deglaze the pan by adding the white wine while scraping the bottom of the pan to loosen the bits of fond. Reduce the liquid for approximately 5 minutes.

deglazing

Add beef broth, meat and vegetable mixture back to the pan, cover and simmer on medium low for approximately 1 hour or until meat is fork tender.gravy

Note: Check on meat every 20-30 minutes and stir to make sure meat is not sticking to bottom of pan. If so, reduce the heat on the burner and continue to simmer until tender.

Serve the tips over a steamy bowl of wild rice or mashed potatoes. Enjoy!

finished

