Tags

, , , ,

P1060823I was at the library one day looking at cookbooks (no surprise there) and sitting on the shelf was a massive book that I thought had been misplaced. But upon further inspection, learned that this was more than just a ginormous book. This gem is known in the foodie world as the “culinary bible”.  With my curiosity peaked, I decided to drag it to the checkout desk and take it home for my own test drive.  The LAROUSSE GASTRONOMIQUE culinary encyclopedia is not your typical cookbook. The size of the book alone, tells you that you’re in for so much more.

Originally printed in 1938, this book has seen many revisions as technology and culinary advances have been made. So don’t worry if the recipe calls for an odd ingredient because chances are, you will probably now be able to find it in your local grocery store. If you have ever dreamed of traveling the world and eating at the local restaurants but can’t afford it, your taste buds are in for a real treat! Gastronomique takes you to the greatest culinary regions of the world and loads you with recipes, interesting facts and even step-by-step demonstrations then, whisks you away to your next destination. Still, this book is even more than that. The famous chef Julia Child is quoted as saying “If I were allowed only one reference book in my library, Gastronomique would be it.”

Admittedly, I’m not a 1,300 page book-reading kind of gal (sorry, short attention span) but this book had my eyes glued to the pages. It’s the everything you EVER wanted to know about cooking kind of book. Ok, so maybe I’ll never have a reasonP1060839 to learn how to butcher a calf. But, I did learn how to make a mean chocolate soufflé. Versions of this book retails for over $125.00. But, The Ravenous Kitchen is always sniffing out a deal, and found it on Amazon for only $15.00 bucks! It’s definitely not a quick read, but I hope you will find this book insightful and a great addition to your cookbook corner.

Happy Reading!

The Ravenous Kitchen

P.S. Remember to enter the Christmas In July Giveaway!

Simply tell us what your favorite Christmas cookie is and if selected, your cookie and recipe will be featured as our holiday cookie of the month and also be the proud recipient of a set of Ceramic Measuring Cups by My Souls Window.*  ceramic measuring cups

