Tags

, ,

Have you ever felt intimidated by something that in your view, is too big to even think about accomplishing? Well, that is how I felt about soufflé recipes or at least, how I used to feel. You know when you are eating in a restaurant and you see this big, fluffy, almost too perfect specimen of a dessert and you think: “Wow, I bet that’s hard to make.” That’s exactly how most home cooks feel about the soufflé. Some culinary schools even have a semester class devoted to learning how to make the perfect souffle. I’m not the kind to back down from a challenge, so I set about dispelling the mystery that surrounds the soufflé.  I’ve watched many a YouTube video as well as channeling my inner Martha Stewart and came up with what I call the unintimidating Chocolate Soufflé recipe.

I needed a soufflé dish in order to make the dessert which by the way, I found at GoodWill for only $1.99. And then, I was off to meet my opponents: Eggs, Chocolate and Sugar. “You mean this is it?” I said to myself, “Only three ingredients and I have been denying myself this lovely little treat all of these years?” So with my confidence at an all time high, I slayed these little warriors and in 30 minutes flat, I was in chocolate paradise.  Here’s how I did it:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

6 ounces Semi-Sweet Baking Chocolate , finely chopped ( I used Ghirardelli)

4 egg yolks

7 egg whites

1/4 c sugar + some to coat soufflé pan

Unsalted butter at room temperature to coat souffle pan

Butter the soufflé pan and dust with 1 tsp sugar.

Melt the chocolate in a heat-proof bowl in microwave until melted and glossy. Stir in between melt time. Set aside to cool.melted chocolate souffle

Beat egg yolks in electric mixer on medium and gradually add 3 tsp of sugar until mixture is pale in color and slightly thick.  beaten egg yolks souffle

Once chocolate is cooled, add to the egg yolk mixture and beat on medium speed until well incorporated. pouring chocolate into yolks souffle

In separate mixing bowl, beat egg whites on medium speed while gradually adding remaining sugar until eggs whites form stiff peaks.

Add 1/3 of egg whites to the chocolate mixture and stir to incorporate.  Gently fold the remaining egg whites into the chocolate mixture. (do not stir, as it will deflate the egg whites)
folding whites into soufflesouffle ready to bake

Pour into the souffle dish and bake for 30 minutes. Make sure rim of soufflé dish is clean. Serve immediately as the eggs will gradually deflate once removed from the oven. Dust with confectioner sugar and serve with fresh whipped cream.

souffle out of oven

Don’t forget to enter the Christmas In July Giveaway! Submit your favorite Christmas cookie recipe and tell us why Christmas just isn’t Christmas without this recipe. Winners will be chosen the week of August 16th and will receive a set of Ceramic Measuring Cups by My Souls Windowceramic measuring cups

