Tags

, , , ,

Having a heart of gratitude is something that I try to live out and teach to my children on a daily basis. I admit, that at times it’s really hard to sit there and be thankful when loved ones are ill, financial crisis looms, and things just are not working out the way we want them to. But as I began to grow in my walk with the Lord, (still a work in progress) he revealed to me that in 1 Thessalonians 5:18 “Give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus”, doesn’t mean we are not to experience emotions of sadness, concern or even anger when we are faced with a difficult circumstance, but we are also to be thankful because we know that Jesus is still with us in the midst of all of it. As a matter of fact, the word gratitude is a derivative of the word grace. There’s sort of an exchange that takes place when we display a heart of gratitude. We give thanks, and Jesus gives us his grace (strength and favor) to get through the trials and tribulations of life. This may sound silly but I’m even thankful for God instilling in me a heart of gratitude. Because without it, life would be unbearable sometimes and we would have no hope at all. I challenge you this week to try looking at your circumstances with a heart of gratitude. I suspect you too will be thankful for gratitude as well.

