Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Please accept my apologies, but The Ravenous Kitchen has been on F I Y A H this week with back to school preparations which I will be sharing with you over the course of the next week or so.  Twice a year I do what we call a “Big Shop” at our Sam’s Club for all of my ingredients, food storage items etc…  So far I have made 28 quarts of beef stock and 20 quarts of chicken stock for my fall soup-a-thon. Why so much stock you ask? I make a variety of soups throughout the fall and winter and I despise store bought sitting on the shelf for God knows how long so called stocks. Whew! Glad I got that off my chest.  Anyway, I freeze these stocks so that on a whim I can whip up a homemade soup at anytime with little effort. I also made a honey roasted turkey breast in which I sliced and separated in freezer bags for sandwiches.

P1070070Next, I prepared 6 dozen homemade granola bars which are the best tasting bars you will ever eat!  By the way, I will be sharing this recipe and step by step directions for all of the items that I mention in this blog during my back to school special blog. I also made a new recipe that I did tweek a little, but the results were fabulous, which is my homemade Oreo cookie recipe. You will not believe how quick this recipe comes together and how much better it taste than the packaged Oreo P1070102cookies from the grocery store.

 

 

 

 

Aside from this, I have been a homemade bread makin’ fool. Have I mentioned that I love my new bread machine?  Not only because the bread is the bomb, but I love it even more because it only cost $15.00. I will admit, I was skeptical at first, but after the first few loaves, I was sold! I am a major penny-pincher (l learned from the best, my mother) so I am not in the habit of spending good money on something I was unsure of,  but this was a great investment. Getting back to the school lunch thing, I am also making chocolate chunk cookies, oatmeal raisin cookies, and a variety of other goodies for my kid’s lunch boxes.  I say this all the time, but the key to getting the school year off right is PREPARATION. Don’t get in a fret if you can’t do all of this at one time, I space my baking over the course of two weeks or weekends if I am really busy. I even had my kids help me which makes this all the more special.  I will also share with you some of my tips to getting lunches packed, kids dressed and out the door on time without any tears (mine). For some Moms and Dads this is the most wonderful time of the year, but for The Ravenous Kitchen, it’s also one of the busiest times as well.

If you have not entered the Christmas In July Giveaway, it’s not too late. Tell us what your favorite Christmas cookie is along with the recipe and if selected, your recipe with be featured as our Christmas cookie of the month plus will ship you these adorable Ceramic Measuring Cups by My Soul Speaksceramic measuring cups

