Tags

, , , , , ,

I have read Proverbs 4:23 many times. But here recently, I have really begun to understand the depth and brevity of what this proverb is really about. I have had to ask myself the question (actually, several times this week) what am I putting in my heart? Am I ingesting and focusing on negativity which at times seems to be a constant? Or am I putting my faith and hope in Jesus Christ? In my understanding, guarding my heart is much more than just watching something questionable on t.v or engaging in damaging gossip about someone.  It’s what my motivation and intentions are with what I allow in my heart, and how I respond. My desire is to love God and to put only those things in my heart that yield good fruit. But that requires diligence and true effort in which I fall short of many times. I am so thankful for my God who understands my shortcomings and still loves me. I hope that you are encouraged this week to guard your heart and check your motives as well. What we allow in our hearts has the ability to influence how we respond to the issues of life.

Above all guard your heart, for out of it flows the issues of life. Proverbs 4:23

