Tags

, , , , ,

P1070468   I can never say enough good things about having a bread machine. For all of you lazy bakers out there, it’s a god-send. One of my most favorite breads for sandwiches is asiago (ah-she-ah-go) cheese bread. Panera Bread Company makes in my opinion, the best version of this bread. I scoured the internet to find what I would call the yummiest and easiest bread machine version of asiago cheese bread. Not completely satisfied with the recipes that I found, I came up with my own version and it turned out to be fantastic. A chewy, cheesy and garlicky bread was what I was after and by golly, I think I have it! Dump the dough ingredients in the bread machine pan and walk away. With an hour to spare you can oh…wash your hair, paint your nails or in my case conjugate a few verbs in Latin with my daughter (loads of fun). The bread machine does the all the hard labor and you look like a rock star.

Here’s how I made it:

1 1/4 cups water

1 tablespoon honey

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 large egg (beaten)

2 cups bread flour

1 3/4 cake flour ( I used While Lilly Self Rising Flour 2% protein)

1 cup freshly grated Asiago cheese

1 teaspoon kosher salt

2 1/2 teaspoons instant

Filling

Combine all the ingredients and set asidebread filing

1/2 olive oil

1 tablespoon crushed roasted garlic

1/2 cup freshly grated Asiago cheese

 

 

Place the dough ingredients into the pan of the bread machine in the order recommended by the manufacturer. Set the bread machine program setting for either dough or manual and press the start button. At the end of the cycle remove the dough and place in a bowl.  Cover with plastic wrap and let it rest for 10 minutes.

bread ingredients

asiago bread dough

asiago cheese dough piecesAssembly:

Oil a 9 inch cake pan with olive oil. (use a darker pan for crispier bottom crust). Divide the dough into 18 ball-shaped pieces. Dip each piece into the filling, making sure to completely coat each ball very well.  Assemble each piece into the pan until pan is full. Pour remaining filling over the top of the dough pieces. Cover with plastic wrap and let rise for 1 1/2 hours.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees and bake bread for 20-25 minutes until golden and the house smells like heaven.

Chewy, cheesy, garlicky,soft, I could go on with adjectives forever. This is just plain GOOD!!P1070468P1070465

