Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last weekend I had the most amazing time with my family. First of all, my husband and I celebrated our 18th wedding anniversary! The weekend started off with a field trip to Hunters Honey Farm in Martinsville. I have so much to show and tell you about this lovely farm. I will be posting a YouTube video of my interview with Tracy Hunter, owner and beekeeper of Hunters Honey Farm. So stay tuned and I will be posting it soon on The Ravenous Kitchen YouTube channel.

Last but not least, sometimes you just have those moments of serendipity when everything just happens to fall in place. As we were driving home last Saturday from our excursion, we just happened to take the scenic route and drove through a small town and to be honest, I don’t even know the name of the town. We started seeing signs along the road for a barn sale. Me being a city girl, who has never been in a barn let alone a barn sale told my daughters to lets check it out. Boy, was I in for a delightful surprise. Inside this old rickety barn was a thrifter and antique-hunters paradise.  From antique guns (scary) to farm implements, there was something for everyone.  My daughters are becoming bargain hunter princess themselves and found a beautiful old letter written by a young girl to her grandmother while she was living in London as well as old 78′ records and tons of memorabilia.

I lucked out and found this copper set for only $25.00. Seven pieces in total.copper pieces 2 from barn salecopper from barn sale

I also found this antique cast iron pan for $10.00

iron skillet from barn sale

This beautiful ceramic mixing bowl was calling my name $10.00

ceramic mixing bowl barn sale

I also found a set of white Queen Anne’s lace napkins and some other small nick-nacks.

My GoodWill haul was also very good this week:

Picture frame with cast bust of Julius Caesar

and Marie Louise Imperatrice of France. $1.99

marie louise bustjulius caesar bust picture

I also found this beautiful lamp $2.99 P1070802

brown stoneware casserole dish  This nice rectangular stoneware casserole dish was only $2.99

P1070755

