Tags

, , , , , ,

?????????????????????? A cool, crisp morning accompanied by slice of just baked English breakfast bread and you have the makings of the perfect Autumn day. My mother gave me a cookbook by a British pastry chef sometime ago and although I love the Brits, I just sat it on my shelf and forgot about it.  Today, as I was reorganizing my armoire where I keep my cookbooks, the cover of this book just happen to catch my eye. “Hmm…I never even cracked open this book” thought. After perusing through it, I now know why. All of the recipes measurements were in the metric system. Kilo’s, grams, ounces oh my!

The recipe for the banana walnut bread was so enticing, I thought I would give it a go. Side note: Actually, the Brits would probably never eat this at breakfast, but would have it with their afternoon tea. After a quick tutoring session on the many virtues of the metric system by my German husband, I was ready to start baking. Although I was a little worried about the results since I had to convert the measurements to the “American” system, the bread came out moist and had a tender buttery crumb. The addition of the wheat germ in the banana bread gave it some body but did not take away from the taste. The recipe did not call for it, but I added a 1/4 cup of chocolate chips to the finished batter.

Try of this recipe or any of your favorite breakfast breads this weekend along with a spot of tea!

P.S. Hope you enjoy your weekend. I am off to the last Robin’s Eye barn sale of the season. I hope to score some great pieces that I will share with you later!

English Breakfast Banana Walnut Bread

2 1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/2 c sugar

2 eggs (beaten)

1 cup flour

2 1/4 teaspoons baking Powder

4 tablespoons wheat germ

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup walnuts (finely chopped)

1/2 cup chocolate chips (optional)

3 ripe bananas (mashed)

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions oven to 350 degrees

 

Butter and flour a 9″ loaf pan?????????

 

 

 

 

 

Sift the flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon, if using, into a bowl. Stir in the wheat germ.

In a separate bowl, combine the butter and the sugar. Beat mixture until mixture is light and fluffy. Add the mashed bananas and eggs and mix well.?????????????????????????

Add the dry ingredients and blend quickly and evenly blend all dry ingredients.

?????????????????????????????????????????????????

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spoon into a prepared loaf tin. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until a wooden skewer inserted in center comes out clean.

?????????????

?????????????????

